Life After Google

If you prefer the text version beyond all the Google search resources on the saga of its inventors and founders, it is lavishly there in Steven Levy's In the Plex: How Google Thinks, Works, and Shapes our Lives (New York: Simon ...

Life After Google

Life After Google

A FINANCIAL TIMES BOOK OF THE MONTH FROM THE WALL STREET JOURNAL: "Nothing Mr. Gilder says or writes is ever delivered at anything less than the fullest philosophical decibel... Mr. Gilder sounds less like a tech guru than a poet, and his words tumble out in a romantic cascade." “Google’s algorithms assume the world’s future is nothing more than the next moment in a random process. George Gilder shows how deep this assumption goes, what motivates people to make it, and why it’s wrong: the future depends on human action.” — Peter Thiel, founder of PayPal and Palantir Technologies and author of Zero to One: Notes on Startups, or How to Build the Future The Age of Google, built on big data and machine intelligence, has been an awesome era. But it’s coming to an end. In Life after Google, George Gilder—the peerless visionary of technology and culture—explains why Silicon Valley is suffering a nervous breakdown and what to expect as the post-Google age dawns. Google’s astonishing ability to “search and sort” attracts the entire world to its search engine and countless other goodies—videos, maps, email, calendars….And everything it offers is free, or so it seems. Instead of paying directly, users submit to advertising. The system of “aggregate and advertise” works—for a while—if you control an empire of data centers, but a market without prices strangles entrepreneurship and turns the Internet into a wasteland of ads. The crisis is not just economic. Even as advances in artificial intelligence induce delusions of omnipotence and transcendence, Silicon Valley has pretty much given up on security. The Internet firewalls supposedly protecting all those passwords and personal information have proved hopelessly permeable. The crisis cannot be solved within the current computer and network architecture. The future lies with the “cryptocosm”—the new architecture of the blockchain and its derivatives. Enabling cryptocurrencies such as bitcoin and ether, NEO and Hashgraph, it will provide the Internet a secure global payments system, ending the aggregate-and-advertise Age of Google. Silicon Valley, long dominated by a few giants, faces a “great unbundling,” which will disperse computer power and commerce and transform the economy and the Internet. Life after Google is almost here. For fans of "Wealth and Poverty," "Knowledge and Power," and "The Scandal of Money."

More Books:

Life After Google
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: George Gilder
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-07-17 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

A FINANCIAL TIMES BOOK OF THE MONTH FROM THE WALL STREET JOURNAL: "Nothing Mr. Gilder says or writes is ever delivered at anything less than the fullest philosophical decibel... Mr. Gilder sounds less like a tech guru than a poet, and his words tumble out in a romantic cascade." “Google’s
Life After Google
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: George Gilder
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-02 - Publisher:

A compelling examination of The Age of Google, data gathering and the true cost of 'free' services, the Google mindset and its impact on user security, and what lies ahead for Silicon Valley and the future of 'cryptocosm'--the new architecture of the blockchain and its derivatives. Gilder covers the evils
Sex, Life, and Love under the Algorithms
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Joe Vasicek
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-07-17 - Publisher: Joe Vasicek

In a world bound by algorithms and AI, the greatest liability is the human spirit. Welcome to the Algorithmocracy, a fully networked and automated society where all of your preferences are perfectly predicted, all of your choices are fully anticipated, and all of your needs and desires are met—except when
Cryptocurrencies and the Blockchain Revolution
Language: en
Pages: 96
Authors: Brendan January
Categories: Young Adult Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-10-06 - Publisher: Millbrook Press

In January 2009, a mysterious software developer, Satoshi Nakamoto, exchanged a specially designed code with another developer. The code was a digital currency that Nakamoto had proposed several months before in a paper titled “Bitcoin: A Peer-to-Peer Electronic Cash System.” This was the first Bitcoin transaction. Since then, Bitcoin has
Alphabet
Language: en
Pages: 118
Authors: Micky Lee
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-05-14 - Publisher: Routledge

Google is synonymous with searching, but in this innovative new research volume, Micky Lee explores how the Alphabet Corporation, now the parent company of Google, is more than just a search engine. Using a political economic approach, Lee draws on the concept of networks to investigate the growth of this